ILA 2014-2015 Committees

Committee membership is open to active members

The Purpose of the Association is to advance the practice, teaching, and research of listening throughout the world.

The purpose of the Association will be accomplished in the following ways:

           1.  The Association will establish a network of professionals committed to promoting the study and development of effective listening.

           2.  Members will exchange information by sharing teaching objectives, learning activities, promotional methods, materials and additional professional experiences.

           3.  Members are encouraged to pursue listening research as listening affects humanity on multiple levels of economic, educational, racial, cultural, and international relations.

           4.  Members will pursue management strategies and efforts promoting effective listening in government and business.


The Vision of the Association is to be the international leader of listening practices, teaching and research.

Nan Johnson-Curiskis, Chair
Harvey Weiss


Kelly Brion, Chair
Rick Bommelje
Nadine Marsnik
Christine C.M. Goh
Edie Cole

Gayle Pohl, Listening Post, Chair
Margarete imhof, IJL Editor
Erica Lamm, Listening Educ Editor
Michael Z Murphy
Andrea Vicker
Trevor Hannum

Local Arrangements 2015
First VP, Chair Philip Tirpak,
First VP elect, Kent Zimmerman Kelly Brion
Ray McKelvey
Kae VanEngen

Nominations (Chair to be selected by committee)
Amber Alsop-Kimmel
Franca Ferrari
Erica Lamm
Helen Meldrum
Deanson Senda
Manny Steil
Teri Varner
Program Planning Committee
First VP, Chair (Phil Tirpak)
Research chair
Education chair
Healthcare chair
Business chair

Membership Committee
Second VP, Chair (Trevor Hannum)

Financial Review Committee
First VP Elect, and Secretary, Co-Chairs

(Kent Zimmerman and Kae VanEngen)
Melissa Beall

Bylaws Revision Committee
First VP Elect, and Secretary, Co-Chairs
(Kent Zimmerman and Kae VanEngen)
Public Relations Committee
Member-at-Large #1
(Michael Z Murphy)

Special Projects Committee
Member-at-Large #2
(Melissa Beall)

Student Board Member
Victoria Hill
Margarete Imhof, Chair

Andrea Vickery
Chris Bond
Judi Brownell
Sheila Bentley
Jerry Catt-Oliason
Carol Christy
Margaret Fitch-Houser
James Floyd
Chris Gearhart
Dick Halley
Laura Janusik
Avi Kluger
Bill Mickelson
Michelle Pence
Mike Purdy
Helen Ralson
Charles Roberts
Tiffany Shroeder
Tuula-Riita Valikosk
Andrea Vickery
Teija Waaramaaa
Andy Wolvin
Debra Worthington

Helen Ralston, Chair
Amber M. Alsop
Alan Ehrlich
Carole Grau
Don R. Swanson
Judi Brownell
Sardool Singh
Sheila C. Bentley

Melissa Beall, Co Chair
Nan Johnson-Curiskis, Co Chair
Tom E. Wirkus
Vincenne Waxwood
Teruko Akita
Judi Brownell
Nancy Paist-Riches
Sardool Singh
Peter deLisser
Pam Cooper

Global Outreach Committee
Member-at-Large #3
(Michelle Pence)

CLP Committee
Dick Halley, Chair

Susan Timm
Lori Joubert
Theresa Caldwell
Teruko Akita

The chairs of the Standing Committees appointed by the President are: Archives, Awards, Business, Education, Healthcare, Local Arrangements, Certified Listening Professional, and Research

Dr. Nanette Johnson-Curiskis
 Executive Director, International Listening Association 
Box 164, Belle Plaine MN 56011 USA
Phone and TEXT: 1.952.594.5697 
.pdf files downloaded from this site require Adobe Reader
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software