International Listening Association

Notable Members

ILA Lifetime Membership


The ILA welcomes members with many interests.  Our current members include trainers, health care professionals, teachers and researchers.  Of course, listening is important in all careers and in all relationships; therefore, because of the ubiquitous nature of listening we encourage membership for anyone.

We have provided many benefits of joining the ILA.  Our fee structure is affordable and our conventions fees are kept as low as possible to encourage as many people as possible to attend.  Please check out membership benefits and fee structure on the links on the left for more information.

Lifetime Members


In 1979 a group of concerned and committed individuals met on the campus of the University of Minnesota for the first State of the Art of Listening Symposium.

Under the leadership of Lyman K. "Manny" Steil, those 27 professionals decided to form the International Listening Association.  The ILA has grown to include members from all over the world. Those listed below are Lifetime Members.


W. Clifton Adams

Linda Albert

Alberta Arnold

William Arnold

Yoshio Asano

Teruko (Teri) Aso

Beverly Aweve

Emmanuel S. A. Ayee

Susan Ellen Bacon

Larry Barker

Kimberly Batty-Herbert

Melissa Beall

Sheila Bentley

Robert Bohlken

Richard Bommelje

Wayne Bond

Jay Brandon

Ila June Brown-Pratt

Jerry Catt-Oliason

Byung In Cho

Carolyn Coakley Hickerson *

Edie Cole

Judith Cole *

Pamela Cooper

Daniel Corey

Diana Corley Schnapp

Beth Courtier

Carolyn deLisser

Peter deLisser

George Dwyer

Sakae Endo

Gregory Enos

Ella Erway

Margaret Fitch-Hauser

James Floyd

Mary Forestieri

Wendy Fraser *

Corrine Geeting *

William Gehring *

Catherine Gifford

Michael Gilbert

Tim Gilmor

Warren Gore

Frances Grant

Carole Grau

Jennifer Grau

Barnett C. Helzberg

Thomas Hickerson

Joyce Donen Hirschhorn

Bill Holland

Richard Hunsaker

Margarete Imhof

Laura Janusik

Nanette Johnson-Curiskis

Mark LeBlanc

Nadine Marsnik

Sally McCracken

Ray McKelvy

Justin McKeown

Murlene McKinnon

Mary Ann Messano-Ciesla

Robert Metke

John Murphy

Michael Z Murphy

Robert Neuleib

Linda Wilson Nichols

E. Lucile Nichols *

Ned Nichols *

Ralph Nichols *

Jack Nichols

Rick Nienow

Barbara Nixon

Warton Ong

Lisa Orick-Martinez

Kenneth Paulin

James Pratt

Sara Gayle Pyfrom *

Shelby Reigstad

Paul Rich

Alice Ridge

Charles Roberts

Arthur Robertson

Liz Lavallee Shifflett

Dee Steil *

Lyman "Manny" Steil

Sandy Stein

Hiroko Suzuki

Philip Tirpak

Charles Veenstra

Kittie Watson

Harvey Weiss

Gil Whitman

Florence Wolff *

Andrew Wolvin

Debra Worthington

Ray Young


Updated March 2013

Dr. Nanette Johnson-Curiskis
 Executive Director, International Listening Association 
Box 164, Belle Plaine MN 56011 USA
Phone and TEXT: 1.952.594.5697 
.pdf files downloaded from this site require Adobe Reader
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software