ILA Executive Board

The International Listening Association is governed by the ILA Executive Board. The current Board is as follows: 

Elected 2015-19


Charles Veenstra

Elected 2016-20

1st VP

Helen Ralston

Elected 2017-21

1st VP Elect 

Anita Dorczak

Elected 2013-15; 2015-17


Kae Van Engen

Elected 2017-19

MAL, Public Relations

Sherry Wien

Elected 2017-19 MAL, Global Corine Jansen

Elected 2016-18

2nd VP Membership

John Backman

Elected 2016-18

MAL Special Projects

Sheila Bentley


Student Member


Elected 2014-18

Immediate Past President

Kent Zimmerman

Appointed 2007 Executive Director (non voting) Nanette Johnson-Curiskis

Appointed 2011-14; 2014-17; 2017-20

IJL Editor (non voting) (3 year term; 4th year mentor)

Margarete Imhof

Appointed 2013-2016; 2016-19

Listening Post Editor (non voting) (3 year term; 4th year mentor)

Gayle Pohl

Appointed 2016-17

Web Editor (non voting)

Nicole Bodin
Appointed 2017-18 ParliamentarianMelissa Beall

Appointed 2012-2015; 2015-2018

Listening Education Editor (non voting) (3 year term; 4th year mentor)

Erica Lamm

Elected officers are voting members of the Executive Board. All Elected Officers (except the 1st Vice President Elect) are elected for 2 year terms. The 1st Vice President Elect is elected for a four year term: the first year as 1st Vice President Elect, the second year as 1st Vice President, the third year as President, the fourth year as Immediate Past President. The Executive Director is required to attend Executive Board meetings but is a non-voting member.  A majority of the voting members of the Board constitutes a quorum of the Board.

All elected officers will be limited to a six year term limit, combined across all elected positions. Members may self-nominate or be nominated to serve in an elected position following a three year sabbatical.

Working Groups 2016-17

The Board is supported by the following working groups which advance the practice, teaching, and research of listening internationally in specialist areas leading the world in listening practices, teaching and research. Membership is open to all ILA members. For 2016-2017 the groups are as follows: 

Nan Johnson-Curiskis, Chair
Harvey Weiss

Michael Z Murphy, Chair
Wayne Bond
Teri Varner
Tuula-Riitta Valikoski 

Helen Ralston, Chair
Chair-Elect, Sandra Bodin-Lerner

Bylaws Revision
First VP-Elect and Secretary, Co-Chairs
(Helen Ralston and Kae VanEngen)

Convention Local Arrangements 2017
First VP, Chair Charles Veenstra,
Marlene Veenstra
Kae VanEngen

Convention Proposal Review
First VP, (Charles Veenstra)
Research chair
Education chair
Healthcare chair
Business chair

TBA, Chair

Melissa Beall, Chair
Mary Lahman, Chair-Elect

Financial Review
First VP-Elect and Secretary, Co-Chairs
(Helen Ralston and Kae VanEngen)
Melissa Beall
JP Bryan
Executive Director

Global Outreach
Member-at-Large #3, 
Chair (Vacant)
Chair-Elect, TBA

Health Care
Elaine O'Mullane, Chair
Chair-Elect, TBA

Second VP, Chair
(John Backman) 

Nominations (members may serve 2 consecutive years)
TBD, Chair (1 year) 
Chris Bond (1 year)
Jennie Grau (1 year)
Kathy O'Brien (1 year)
Gayle Pohl (1 year)

Gayle Pohl, Listening Post, Chair
Melissa Beall, Chair-Elect
1st Vice President
Member at Large--PR
IJL Editor
Web Editor
Listening Post Editor

Public Relations
Member-at-Large #1 Chair (Michael Z Murphy)

Erica Lamm, Chair
Chair-Elect, TBA

Special Projects
Member-at-Large #2, Chair (Sheila Bentley)

The chairs of the standing committees appointed by the President are:
Local Arrangements
Certified Listening Professional

International Listening Association
943 Park Drive
Belle Plaine, MN 56011, USA
Phone: (001) 952-594-5697
The ILA is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization 

.pdf files downloaded from this site require Adobe Reader

Web Hosting provided by myhosting.com

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software